Perfectly crafted words

Published on the 29 of August 2023

Ereyesterday, I heard this song for the first time. I was looking for new music and going through artists their albums, when I landed this gem:

Things I once enjoyed. Just keep me employed now, mmm. Things I’m longing for, mmm. Someday, I’ll be bored of. It’s so weird. That we care so much until we don’t.

But next week, I hope I’m somewhere laughing. For anybody asking, I promise I’ll be fine. I’ve had some trauma, did things I didn’t wanna.

-> By Billie Eilish

Music has a remarkable way of encapsulating human emotions, giving voice to the unspoken struggles that we all face. While not explicitly mentioning “depression”, these lyrics capture the essence of the emotional complexities.

Things I once enjoyed, just keep me employed now. Things I'm longing for, mmm. Someday, I'll be bored of

Showcases a major shift, when depressed, activities that were previously cherished, can often feel mundane.

Ice-skating has been for as long as I can remember my favorite sport. Every time I went on the ice, it felt as if… my heart melted, melted for the adventure, adrenaline and exhilarating rush of skating rapidly in between people, leaving them in shock.

A careful dance between the people, the ice, and me.

But nowadays, even my favorite activity, THE activity I would want to do daily, feels mundane, tame, boring.

This feeling isn’t limited to ice-skating, but also coding/programming… It’s extremely hard to get any enjoyment out of it.

It's so weird. That we care so much until we don't

Pretty self explanatory. The detachment and emotional numbness of everything leaves me puzzled daily. I just try to do the bare minimum to come by, since its impossible to bring up motivation to do anything more, try to be an imperfectly good human, try to survive for those that depend on me.

But next week, I hope I'm somewhere laughing. For anybody asking, I promise I'll be fine.

Found this fancy word to describe these sentences UwU, a juxtaposition.

definition:

Juxtaposition in literary terms is the showing contrast by concepts placed side by side.

-> Wikipedia

It mirrors the inner pulling and pushing, on the one side, everyone desires a brighter future, but when asked to talk about the problems (in society often a rhetorical question) we are currently facing, we say we’re doing fine/ok/alive, …

In a way we are obliged to say we’re ok, we fear/expected people to react a certain way. When most people ask the question how are you?, they are looking for a reassuring answer.

My question to you, do you want a REAL answer to the question, or rather stay in your magical land where everything is picture perfect and pristine?

I've had some trauma, did things I didn't wanna.

The weight of past traumas and the actions we wish we could undo is immeasurable. Although these shaped us, they were far from ideal, this acknowledgement to the past, is a respectful hat tip to moments that left their mark.

Desired or not.

The end

While the lyrics don’t explicitly label themselves as being about depression, they paint a vivid picture of the emotional landscape that many, if not everyone, who face this condition will intimately and immediately understand.

Want to get notified when I write another post? Sign-up here